Removing electrodes from pinset

Post Reply
drmrfzl
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Mar 05, 2020 1:21 am

Removing electrodes from pinset

Post by drmrfzl »

Hello -

I work in a lab that does polysomnography, currently using a 32-pin active electrode set. However, a point of contention for me and some in our lab is that 32 electrodes are not required for the data we are collecting - only 6 are.

This may be a crazy question, but is there a safe way to remove electrodes from a pin set? Ideally, we would not have to purchase a whole new pin set (and as far as I am aware, BioSemi only goes down to 16 pins - not including the 8-pin EX1-EX8 set - which is an improvement but still more than we need), but I realize that may be the best option.

I apologize if this has been discussed before on the forum, I did a search and did not find anything. I appreciate any advice anyone has to offer!

Mike

Coen
Site Admin
Posts: 988
Joined: Fri Mar 26, 2004 7:00 pm
Location: Amsterdam, Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Removing electrodes from pinset

Post by Coen »

Use 6 so called TP-pin electrodes connected to the EX inputs.

Best regards, Coen (BioSemi)

drmrfzl
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Mar 05, 2020 1:21 am

Re: Removing electrodes from pinset

Post by drmrfzl »

Coen wrote:
Thu Mar 05, 2020 7:16 pm
Use 6 so called TP-pin electrodes connected to the EX inputs.

Best regards, Coen (BioSemi)
Thanks for the reply! However, we use the EX inputs for face electrodes. Is there any way to increase the number of EX inputs (i.e., signal splitter)?

Coen
Site Admin
Posts: 988
Joined: Fri Mar 26, 2004 7:00 pm
Location: Amsterdam, Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Removing electrodes from pinset

Post by Coen »

Add a Headbox, see https://www.biosemi.com/accessoires.htm

Best regards, Coen (BioSemi)

Post Reply