recording of high frequency oscillatory activity

jasnam

recording of high frequency oscillatory activity

Post by jasnam »

hi,

i'm trying to get my dept to aquire a biosemi system. i did my phd in leipzig on high frequency oscillatory activity in visual object representation. I used a biosemi system and was delighted by the signal-to-noise ratio which gave me excellent data.

however, a lecturer who is considered to be an eeg expert in my dept says that 'Biosemi does not provide the standard EEG that would be acceptable for clinical purposes. Active electrodes are known to enhance the high-frequency oscillatory components but no one knows whether this enhancement is neurophysiologically plausible.'

I thought biosemi can be used for clinical research, but not for diagnostics. however, the 2nd argument completely baffles me. Why would the signal not be neurophysiologically plausible?

thanks in advance for your reply,
Jasna

Coen
Site Admin

Post by Coen »

The statement about enhancement of the high-frequency oscillatory components is nonsense. I do not think that it is justified to post such accusations without any argument or proof. I feel that the "lecturer who is considered to be an eeg expert" should reveal himself or herself. In addition, you should not spread such unjustified rumors. As your know, we are always happy to discuss technical issues about our designs. However, this is something else than asking me to react on anonymous rumors by people who clearly do not know what they are talking about.

The Biosemi active electrodes provide the same EEG data as other properly designed EEG machines. The major advantage of active electrodes with respect to passive elctrodes, is the much better rejection of interference (therefore skin preparation can be omitted), and the optimally high input impedance (which ensures a flat frequency response even with high electrode impedances).

Coen (BioSemi)

jasnam

Post by jasnam »

hi,