Biosemi data format/Reading .bdf into Matlab

RicardaBraukmann

Biosemi data format/Reading .bdf into Matlab

Post by RicardaBraukmann »

Hi everyone,

I am new to Biosemi and I have a couple of question regarding the Biosemi data format and reading in .bdf files into Matlab.
I would like to use Fieldtrip, a Matlab toolbox for EEG analysis (see http://fieldtrip.fcdonders.nl/), to analyze my data, but I am encountering some problems when trying to read in raw biosemi data (.bdf).

The main thing is that the data looks odd to me as the vertial scale is very large [ -178000 178000 ], but also filtering and trial selection does not work properly.

From what I have read so far about Biosemi, I suspect that this might have to do with the DC-offset and that I might have to re-reference the data. I tried this using one of the EXG channels ('EXG5'), but this did not help.
I am afraid that I dont fully understand Biosemi data and it would be great if someone could give me some more insights into this matter.

- Is this scaling problem indeed caused by the offset/Do I indeed need to re-reference the data before I can use it in Matlab?
- If so, what should be used as a reference?
- In addition, I was wondering if someone could explain to me what these EXG channels (there are 8 of those in my data) are exactly?

Since I wasn't able to work with the .bdf files, I tried to convert them to .edf (using the converter from http://www.biosemi.com/download/).
This .edf file looks much more normal in Fieldtrip, but the data is still very noisy and I still encounter some problems, especially when trying to filter the data. When applying a high-pass filter (0.5Hz) on the data for example, Matlab gives an error reporting unstable poles.

- I was not sure whether I need to re-reference this .edf file as well (which leads again to my question about re-referencing and the EXG channels)
- Any additional suggestions on why I might have problems with filtering are of course also very welcome!