Bipolar view when not using EX1-8

Post Reply
Huisintveld
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Feb 24, 2012 1:58 pm
Location: Tilburg

Bipolar view when not using EX1-8

Post by Huisintveld » Fri Feb 24, 2012 4:02 pm

L.S.,

I am currently working on a surface EMG experiment, using the Headbox with 32 Active TouchProof connectors, of which I use 16 channels with the flat type electrodes.

Unfortunately, this means I am unable to use a bipolar view as you can do with the EX1-8 channels, where you can see what the signal of EX1 - EX2 looks like.

For example, it would be very useful to me if I can check what the signal looks like if I subtract A1 - A2, A3 - A4, etc.

Is this in any way possible?

Kind regards,

Elisabeth Huis in 't Veld
Tilburg University

Coen
Site Admin
Posts: 965
Joined: Fri Mar 26, 2004 7:00 pm
Location: Amsterdam, Netherlands
Contact:

Post by Coen » Tue Feb 28, 2012 6:09 pm

Bipolar leads can be displayed one-by-one by using the "free choice" options for "channels" and "reference" in the monopolar tabpage (e.g.: select chan A1 and ref A2 to display A1-A2).

Using the bipolar tabpage for other channels than EX1-EX2 requires some simple code changes in LabVIEW. Since ActiView is fully open source, the user can easily adapt the program to his special needs.

Best regards, Coen

Huisintveld
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Feb 24, 2012 1:58 pm
Location: Tilburg

Post by Huisintveld » Tue Mar 13, 2012 3:14 pm

I wouldn't call it easy, I installed LabView and spend the better part of my day trying to work it out but alas.
(I also can't find a good manual for complete beginners like myself.)

If anyone has an idea on how to accomplish this I love to hear it!

Until then I will manually check every channel as you suggested.

Sincerely, Elisabeth Huis in 't Veld

Coen
Site Admin
Posts: 965
Joined: Fri Mar 26, 2004 7:00 pm
Location: Amsterdam, Netherlands
Contact:

Post by Coen » Tue Mar 13, 2012 3:29 pm

Just change the channels routed (with a 2D array) into subvi "Ref-Bip-New4.vi" from EX1-EX8 (chan 257-265 in speedmode 4) to the 16 channels used for flat electrodes (in your case: E1-E16, chan 129-144).

Best regards, Coen (BioSemi)

Huisintveld
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Feb 24, 2012 1:58 pm
Location: Tilburg

Post by Huisintveld » Tue Mar 13, 2012 4:01 pm

Thank you so much for your patience, but I don't even know how to get to the part in the software where you can change this. If I try to import a library I don't see the Ref-Bip-New4.vi, and if I open Ref-Bip-New4.vi I don't see where I can change the channel numbers, and the Call Library function is beyond my comprehension as well!

I am sorry for my utter lack of knowledge concerning any of this!

Coen
Site Admin
Posts: 965
Joined: Fri Mar 26, 2004 7:00 pm
Location: Amsterdam, Netherlands
Contact:

Post by Coen » Wed Mar 14, 2012 12:08 pm

Please see viewtopic.php?t=656 and viewtopic.php?t=65 .

Best regards, Coen (BioSemi)

Post Reply